Narendra Nath Dhar is one of the finest exponents of the Seniya Gharana who is known for his innovativeness and refined style as well as upholding the traditional pattern of pure and untainted Ragdari.

Born in Calcutta in 1954, Pandit Narendra received his initial training in Sarod from his father Late Shri Nemai Chand Dhar, who himself excelled in Sarod playing. After the death of his father he was under the tutelage of Shri Samarendra Nath Sikdar and later under Late Pt. Radhika Mohan Maitra, the doyen of Sarod. Pt. Radhika Mohan Maitra played a crucial role in nurturing Narendra as one of the topmost sarod players of his generation. His musical prowess received a further honing under Ustad Amjad Ali Khan.

Shri Dhar has performed in almost all of the prestigious music conferences of India and has also toured abroad. A popular AIR and TV artist, he has captivated audiences all over the world with his exquisite command over Sarod and the melodious stream of notes that he creates. His elegant “Alap”, colorful “Ekhara Tans”, xotic “Jhala” and admirable control of “Tala” and “Laya“ remind of great masters of this instrument.

The talent of Shri Dhar has been duly recognized over the years. A prize winner in the All India Radio Music competition in instrumental music Sarod in the year 1970, he was awarded the National Scholarship from the Department Of culture, Govt. of India for intensive training in Sarod from 1975 to 1978. In 1995, Shri Dhar was honored with the prestigious Naushad Award by the Government of Uttar Pradesh for his outstanding contribution in the field of instrumental music. He was also awarded the Academy Award for his contribution in instrumental music by the U.P. Sangeet Natak Academy, for the year 2000. Many audio cassette & CD of Shri Dhar has also been released by different companies in India and abroad.

Since 1981 Shri Dhar has been sharing the stage with great maestros of Indian Music. Some Instrumentalists like- Late Ustad Bismillah Khan, Late Ustad Ali Akbar Khan, Pt. Ravi Shankar, Late Ustad Vilayat Khan, Late Pandit V G. Jog, Late Pt. Nikhil Banerjee, Pt. Debu Chaudhary, Pt. M.S. Gopal Krishnan, Ustad Amjad Ali Khan, Pt. Shiv Kumar Sharma, Pt. Hari Prasad Chaurasiya, Pt. Buddhaditya Mukherjee, Ustad Shahid Pervez; vocalists- Late Pt. Bhimsen Joshi, Pt. Jaisraj, Pt. Bal Murli Krishnan, Smt. Girja Devi, Smt. Kishori Amonkar, Smt. Parveen Sultana, Pt. Rajan Sajan Mishra, Pt. Ajay Chakraborty, Ustad Rashid Khan, Smt. Ashwini Bhide; dancers- Late Pt. Kelu Charan Mahapatra, Smt. Yamini Krishan Murthi, Pt. Birju Maharaj, Late Smt. Sanjukta Panigrahi, Smt. Sonal Man Singh, Late. Pt. Durga Lal, Pt. Raja Radha Reddy among many others

Shri Dhar also had the privilege of being accompanied on the Tabla by maestros like Late Pt. Kishan Maharaj, Late Ustad Karamatullah Khan, Late Pt. Jnan Prakash Ghosh, Late Pt. Shamta Prasad, Late Pt. Shyamal Bose, Late Pt.Shankar Ghosh, Late Ustad Afaq Hussain Khan, Late Ustad Latif Ahmad Khan, Pt. Swapan Chaudhari, Pt. Anindo Chatterjee, Pt. Kumar Bose, Pt. Samar Saha and Ustad Zakir Hussain.


  • 1970 AIR Music Competition
  • 1975 National Scholarship by Government of India
  • 1995 Naushad Award
  • 2000 Sangeet Natak Academy Award.
  • 1973 Sangeet Natak Academy Award.